School & Faculty

1. School of Computer & Communication Engineering

The School of Computer & Communication Engineering was established on 30th April 2002. The School of Computer and Communication Engineering adheres to the philosophy that emphasizes the importance of setting up Coppermine integration of knowledge, skills and practices that make the concept a true appreciation of science. The foundations of knowledge comBined with good values of life that intellectual culture can be fostered and digested to form a way of life that is dynamic, progressive and civilized.

2.  School of Microelectronic Engineering

School of Microelectronic Engineering (SoME), among the pioneer schools established in UniMAP, is a comprehensive institution, offering formative undergraduate degrees with research and design elements. Our undergraduate degrees provide the opportunity to gain knowledge and develop personal skills on an intensivehigh-quality programme at the cutting edge of technology.

3.  School of Mechatronic Engineering

School of Mechatronic Engineering was established in 2003 to meet Malaysia growing needs of professionals – particularly in the field of electromechanical, mechanical and biomedical electronics engineering. This is in-line with industries demands coherent with the report of Malaysian Industrial Master Plan (Laporan Pelan Induk Perindustrian). The curriculum has been designed with a balanced emphasis in both theoretical and practical engineering aspects. Additionally, teaching and learning activities are conducted via various approaches, including embedding theoretical knowledge with learning activities using state-of-the-art laboratory equipments. Thus, greatly benefitting UniMAP students and ensuring them in keeping abreast with the latest technological development.

4.  School of Electrical System Engineering

School of Electrical System Engineering offers four programmes, Bachelor of Electrical System Engineering, Bachelor of Industrial lectronic Engineering, Bachelor of Electrical Energy Systems Engineering and Bachelor of Technology in Industrial Power Engineering.

5.  School of Manufacturing Engineering

Initially, the School of Manufacturing Engineering, also known as PPKP was established with the name of the School of Manufacturing System Engineering or in short form of PPKSP on March 1, 2003. The school’s new name was then proposed to School of Manufacturing and it has been approved officially by the Ministry of Higher Education dated October 30, 2004. Among the major justification for the changing the name of the school was due to the manufacturing engineering field is larger than the manufacturing systems engineering, or in other words, engineering manufacturing system is one aspect in the field of manufacturing engineering itself.

6.  School of Materials Engineering

Materials Engineering, Metallurgical Engineering and Polymer Engineering are related to the structure and propertiesof materials that have engineering applications. Materials Engineer, Metallurgical Engineer and Polymer Engineer are responsible for designing, producing, inspecting and testing of engineering materials such as metal alloys, semiconductors, superconductors, ceramics, polymers, plastics and composites. All three programs emphasize learning and practical courses in all courses offered.

7.  School of Environmental Engineering

The School of Environmental Engineering (PPKAS) was established in January 2006 after approval from the Ministry of Higher Education on 27 October 2005. The environmental engineering programme was first offered in the 2006/2007 academic session. A total of 30 students enrolled into this programme at that time. The first cohort from Environmental Engineering graduated in August 2010. In line with the national industrial growth, the School of Environmental Engineering currently offers two bachelor degree programmes i.e. Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Environmental Engineering) and Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Building Engineering).

8.  School of Bioprocess Engineering

The School of Bioprocess Engineering (SBE) was first established in October 2005 after approval from the Ministry of Higher Education. SBE currently offers four (2) Bachelor’s Degree programmes namely Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Bioprocess Engineering), Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Biosystems Engineering), Bachelor of Chemical Engineering Technology (Honours)(Industrial Biotechnology) and Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering Technology (Honours) (Agricultural Systems)

9.  School of Business Innovation & Technopreneurship

School of Business Innovation & Technopreneurship (PPIPT) was approved for inception on June 4, 2010. PPIPT was established to serve as a catalyst in disseminating knowledge in management and business not only to all departments at UniMAP, in particular, the engineering schools but also the society at large. 

10. School of Human Development and Techno-Communication

Welcome to all students to our faculty , our aim is to develops the communication skills of UniMAP students in different fields such as language, Social Communication, culture history and information technologies ideas . Then they will be capable to understand and work easily with outside world and get enough communication knowledge to develops the country and be part of the scientist and inventors in the world.

11. Faculty of Engineering Technology (Fe-Tech)

Faculty of Engineering Technology (Fe-Tech) was established at Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) in 2013. Its establishment is in line with the objectives of the Technical University in Malaysia under the Malaysian Technical University Network, (MTUN), which is to educate and train highly talented workforce to contribute to the advanced industrial countries, in addition to being a catalyst for national strategies to achieve high-income nation status.